Hello again.

First post…in nearly 4 years?

I wish, I wish, I wish…I didn’t neglect this blog so bad. However, there have been many changes since then.

First (and probably most importantly), I no longer live in Japan. I moved to Hawaii about 3 and a half years ago. Due to the lack of trains on the island of Oahu, there hasn’t been a whole lot to write about. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

At the same time, I know that if I were to restart this blog…where would I begin? There have been SO many changes within the Japanese rail industry over the last couple years. Such as…

600px-w7_series_set_w3_20150207

…the opening of the Hokuriku Shinkansen and debut of the E7/W7 series…

600px-seven_stars_in_kyushu_at_aso_station_20131103

…the debut of numerous deluxe-style trains, including the Seven Stars in Kyushu…

10365560_10152745979134924_7390695153445796298_o-600x399

…trains where you can drink sake and listen to jazz music…

imgmainb

…trains that have built-in foot baths…

…and that’s just scratching the surface! There’s the upcoming opening of the Hokkaido Shinkansen, continuous testing of the maglev train and so much more.

Fortunately, I do have the chance to visit Japan once a year, so I try to take a couple journeys whenever I can. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the time to take note of anything special in particular during most visits as most of the time is spent with family and catching up with friends (not a bad thing).

Since I haven’t logged on in a while, I decided to take a look at the analytics of the site.

In 2012 (when I took the time to update and post new items), this site received a total of 9,440 views, with 372 unique visitors.

In 2015 (after 3 years in inactivity), this site received a total of 10, 667 views, with 7, 337 visitors. An increase of 1, 872%?! Doing nothing actually increased traffic??

After a little more analyzing, the most popular post by far, was The Eki Stamp, published on May 22, 2011. It’s interesting to see that 1) it’s a post that has hopefully been useful or at least interesting to many people and 2) it’s a post that is still relevant today. I realized that many of the previous posts were relevant to the time it was posted in, for example special deals on train tickets… as I am sure they have long expired by now and are of no use to anyone. But train stamps are something that will be around forever (I hope) and it’s fun to see others have fun with something that is uniquely Japan.

Living in Japan for 6 years was one of the most incredible experiences in my life and it’s still something I talk about every day to people. I’m sure those around me are sick of hearing about my stories over there, but I can’t say farewell to all the awesome memories I had. Riding trains from north to south, east to west was a large part of my experience and I look forward to riding them every trip back.

So, what to write about now? Not quite sure…I wouldn’t mind updating this site more often. But until I figure that out, I just wanted to say to visitors old and new to this site…

…thanks for reading! I hope this site gives you a small taste of what I was able to experience in Japan.

2 responses to “Hello again.

  • TonyJ2

    Trains. Keep telling the stories.

  • derekhambrick

    I found the older blog posts useful. And I even think I commented! Although I didn’t end up taking the … forget the name, but it’s like the Green Car’s Rich Uncle … on my last trip, your blog helped me learn something.

    I’d encourage you to keep writing despite the chasm between posts and your circumstances! I’ve jumpstarted my sorely neglected blog this year. Like they say, “New year, new you” or some other bologna like that.

    I look forward to my next trip, probably in 2017. And train rides account for some of that warm anticipation.

Leave a Reply

